Thrift Shoppe

This is a reblog with annotations.  The reason it’s a reblog rather than just directing you to Reading Thoughts, the source, is that (for people like me who are only conversant with parts of the picture) it needs some background in order to appreciate the richness of the parody.

First you have to know about the original Thrift Shop.  This is by a rapper called Macklemore (and his collaborator Ryan Lewis).  If you are not familiar therewith, then you can find it on Ryan Lewis’s YouTube channel.  (Caution: contains rap.)

So the source is a rap about buying second-hand clothes. This was parodied very briefly by the Shakespeare Lyrics account on Twitter (@ShakespeareSong):-

I shalt pop some tags, only possess 20 shillings within my pocket.

Hank Green (of the Vlog Brothers), picked this up on his Tumblr page (edwardspoonhands.com).  He could have criticised the use of the second person “shalt” with the first person “I”, but he contented himself with:-

Not Iambic….Do Not Accept…

Which was what set Jonny off to create this longer parody:-

These tags I’ll pop, and boast in rhyming verse
that what I wear puts swagger in my gait;
though twenty shillings have I in my purse,
my self-esteem and manhood both inflate
when lofty furs I purchase for a cent.
Thy grandpa’s clothes are worthy salvage, though
they smell a trifle musty. Still, I spent
much less to dress myself from head to toe.

 To save or not to save? The question’s moot.
I’ll never give my coin to high-street crooks.
These dusty shelves will yield their hidden loot
to those, like me, more frugal in their looks.
Like ancient coins washed up on distant shores,
I’ll find my treasures in these thrifty stores.
– Macklemore, “Thrift Shoppe

Leave a Reply

